Elisha

Today we are going to focus on chapter 3 of Greater. Specifically, our focus will be on a guy named Elisha. Elisha is introduced by Steven Furtick as a “nothing glamorous” ordinary guy “plowing a field”.

ross-farm-museum-oxen-mowing-the-field

Elisha’s life was a continuous cycle of waking up, working, eating, then sleeping. Nothing changed. You would think Elisha would dislike his basic life, but what he lacked in excitement he leveled out in stability.

I can relate to this. I have a very consistent schedule, however, as I type this my work schedule was just changed….interesting?? Anyhow, my schedule week-to-week is the same. School, work, cheer, eat, and try to find time to sleep. I’ve done this every week for the past 6 months.

But, watch out! Steven warns that things you use to say “I get to (do)” you’ll start saying “I have to (do)”. I slowly started seeing this trend in my daily life. I love what I do, I promise, but sometimes I am rushed and I’m more focused on finishing my work than enjoying it and putting my life and effort into it. (if you don’t know I work as an intern at my local church) 

I can definitely say I feel “stuck” in my routine. Sometimes it makes me question whether or not I’m really enjoying what I am doing or if I feel obligated to go it. I’m at a crossroads in my life. Do I continue to work with students or do I pursue a different direction? I’ve had a recent itch to work with the younger kids at my church. It’s the first place I volunteered way back when and recently I’ve been thinking maybe this is were my calling. I do have a long way to go before I have to make a decision, but it has been a frequent thought of mine the past couple of weeks.

In 1st Kings 19:19-20 it says, So Elijah went from there and found Elisha son of Shaphat. He was plowing with twelve yoke of oxen, and he himself was driving the twelfth pair. Elijah went up to him and threw his cloak around him. Elisha then left his oxen and ran after Elijah.”

Elisha didn’t hesitate to follow Elijah. He knew there was a greater calling him than plowing fields. I hope this calling is presented to me one day. That I’ll be called to something greater than me and something I can’t refuse. Maybe it’ll be student ministry or youth ministry, but for now I’m just the intern. Slowly, very slowly, I’m trying to figure it out (but not by myself, obviously, God and I have been having some one-on-one sessions about this).

I hope y’all liked my commentary on Chapter 3 of Greater by Steven Furtick. If y’all feel a little stuck in your life like me I encourage you to talk to God about it. Living a stagnate life is boring and not what God wants for you. Get out there and live contagiously. Hope y’all have a great week and see y’all back next time!

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.” —Hebrews 12:1-3

Leave a comment